Happy Father’s Day

As my thoughts today turn toward Father’s Day coming up, I think of the fathers I have had in my life. I hope you don’t mind if I reshare this post from last year…

the grizzle grist mill

*Lengthy post alert (just a little 😉)*

Father’s Day invokes so many thoughts, feelings and emotions for so many. To look through social media lately, you’d think every woman is “Daddy’s Little Girl,” and most men are “Dad’s Best Bud;” yet, for many, like myself, Father’s Day is filled with a pure mixture of emotions.


You see, as a small child, I hardly ever saw my biological Dad. He was an alcoholic, worked as a merchant marine and was off to sea more often than he was at home. His father wasn’t really present in his life, and he didn’t know how to be present in mine. Sure, he promised to call, promised to come, and I’d watch and wait for hours. At four years old, I’d even have my bags packed by the door, waiting for hours on end, only to realize, in the moments of crying myself…

View original post 858 more words

One thought on “Happy Father’s Day

Comments are closed.