Questions to Ponder

   
 I saw a list of questions today on a delightful blog post here, and as easy as the questions seemed while reading, I began to ponder them for myself, and I realized they’re not as easy as they first appear. I’d like to share them with you now and see if you might want to share your answers as well…

If you had a shelf for your three most special possessions (NOT including photos, electronic devices and things stored on then, or people or animals) what would you put there?

I don’t consider myself a real materialistic kind of gal; so, this question took me a little bit of time, because my first thoughts were of my family, all the photos I cherish, and one special book that I treasure. Since, I wasn’t allowed to include people or photos, my list shortened, and since my treasured book will be placed in the ‘happiness’ box below, I was back to square one. I, then, thought of my wedding band, but I could never leave that on a shelf, I would always be wearing it; so, again, I pondered. The next three things I treasure in life would be these: my journals, my camera and my gun. That may seem like a very strange combination, but let me explain…my journals for all of my writings of thoughts, goals, dreams, feelings and agonies of life. Here is where I work out my emotions and seek out the depths of my heart…my camera for all the many photographs I take to try and capture the moment and document the memories forever…my gun for a sense of security and protection, for if this world goes crazy one day, I will protect my family with everything I have and more. 

If you had a box labeled ‘happiness,’ what would you put in it?

This one was pretty easy for me to decide, because I believe true happiness can never come from a thing or even a person. True happiness can only come from within, and it can only be found, and be found everlasting, within the joy of the Lord. The One True God is the only one who can bring us perfect peace in a storm, beauty from ashes and joy through morning. So, my Bible would go inside this box, but it would be opened everyday; so, I might read, listen, learn and commune with my Heavenly Father. 

  
What do you want more of in this life?

There’s really not a whole lot more that I want more of. I feel like I have been blessed so much that I don’t really have a right to ask for anything more. I guess, if I had to choose, I’d say I’d like to, personally, have more discipline and confidence I my life. I get so frustrated with myself when I get lazy and when I back up or hesitate due to a lack of confidence. 

Daily Life List:  What do you do on an average day? Make a list of your usual activities that you do each day.

When I read Paardje’s daily life list, I have to admit I was quite jealous of her disciplined routine. I cannot say I am that precise in my daily agenda; even though, I so long to become that way. My daily life list is more like this:

1. 6:30am Wake up call

2. Devotions/Bible reading

3.  New found exercise routine (Mmm, working on the consistency of this one…As of this post, Day 5 in progress)

5. Shower and get ready

6. 3 days a week – Make sure the boys are up and getting ready for school…make sure they have lunches, and take them to school (2 days a week are home days; so, it’s a focus of schoolwork during morning hours)

7. While the boys are in school: 2 days of the weeks, we have a staff meeting and a prayer meeting, both ending around lunch time … And 1 day, I either work at the church or stay home to take care of “home stuff,” depending on the week and what the needs are 

8. Lunch with hubby

9. Pick up boys from school 

10. Run errands or return home and straighten/clean as needed

11. Dinner 

12. Evenings vary but are usually centered around family activities or down time

13. 8pm All video games and devices off…Tv/movies allowed if doing together

14. 9pm Boys to their rooms to read and settle down for bed…All electronics off and put up 

15. 9:30/10pm Lights Out for boys 😴

16. Bedtime varies for me… unfortunately, I am a night owl attempting to go to bed at earlier hours these days. 😁

Bonus Question: What are you grateful for from this last week? – and what are you looking forward to in this coming week?

This last week, I am grateful for the beautiful patches of snow we have had. It wasn’t much to speak of, only a dusting really, but I just love snow so much that even a little white dusting makes me feel like a kid again! 

This coming week, Sunday, is Valentine’s Day. My husband always says I’m a “sucker for love;” so, naturally, VDay is always a fun day for us! 😊❀️

I do hope you’ve enjoyed my little “heart and soul adventure,” and I do hope you’ll send me a few responses on some of your own answers. Or, maybe like me, it will inspire you to write up your own blog with your answers to these pondering questions. Please, be sure to link my blog; so, I can venture over to read! I’d love to learn more about you and what makes you who you are! 😊  I hope you have a great day today!!

10 thoughts on “Questions to Ponder

  1. Hi Mia! These are such great questions! I love your answers, and I agree with what andy1076 said :p. Let me see if I can answer them as well:
    1. Three most special possessions: This was hard for me too because pictures were the first thing to come to mind. But since that’s not allowed…it would be my journal, my phone (sad to admit this, but it’s my major connection to family and friends – Facetime!), and my laptop (business stuff).
    2. Happiness box: photos of my family and friends, White Oleander by Janet Fitch, my engraved ring that my BFF also has, my career/occupational therapy inspiration binder, a card that my bf wrote me for our anniversary. It would be a big box, hehe.
    3. What do you want more of in this life? Mm…I wish more people were willing to work on preventing any major illness before it strikes. And I want more hugs and smiles. Cheesy, I know.
    4. My average day: I don’t have very many average days since every day as an entrepreneur can be so different. MWF I work at the hospital 8-4:30pm, then I come home and I hang out on WordPress/FB blogging groups to connect with people. TTH are my flex days so you’ll often find me working out in the morning and then blogging/emailing/writing/creating fliers/making phone calls, etc. And then of course there’s the healthy daily dose of some good old Netflix. πŸ™‚
    5. What are you grateful for from this last week? – and what are you looking forward to in this coming week? Last week, two different libraries signed me on for my workshops, and I am so excited and grateful for the opportunity. This week, I am looking forward to going down to SD with my bf to spend VDay with another couple for some hot tubbing, wining and dining, and hiking. (not all at once).
    I hope you have a wonderful day!! And I hope you and your hubby enjoy a beautiful VDay together. If you read all this, thanks for reading. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did enjoy reading your “heart and soul adventure” as well as the links you provided. If only there were 48 hours in a day, I could participate in them all.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.