Purpose in the Mundane

As I set about cleaning the house this evening, I am reminded to find purpose in the mundane, to rejoice in the routine. Lord, help me to remember the purpose to which You have called me, even in the smallest of things… Now, where’s that broom and dustpan? 😉

the grizzle grist mill

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/dbc/71492601/files/2014/12/img_8944.jpg
The other day, I was sweeping the hardwoods…I hate to sweep, but it’s something that must be done, or crumbs and filth will build up, and then we’ll have nastiness, filth, and even bugs. I hate bugs in the house. I hate bugs in the house more than I hate sweeping! …So, I was sweeping and thinking of all the stuff I needed to do around the house. The end tables needed dusting, the carpet needed vacuuming, the blinds needed wiping, the sheets needed washing and changing, etc.

All of sudden, JMan said, “Mom, come here quick!” I walked into the office, a little begrudgingly, because I had so much to do, and he was simply calling me over to the computer. He said, “Look at the house I’ve built!” Then, he proceeded to show me the house, with all its rooms, and a “treasure chest” in one of them…

View original post 503 more words

