For Generations to Come

four_generations_hands

There is a song that really hit home with me the other day…

“…And if I were honest with myself

Had I been standing at that tree

My mouth and my hands would be covered with fruit

Things I shouldn’t know and things I shouldn’t see

Remind me of this with every decision

Generations will reap what I sow

I can pass on a curse or a blessing

To those I will never know”        – Sara Groves  “Generations”

The artist is referring to Eve tasting the fruit in the Garden of Eden, the comparison of her own life and the repercussions of decisions made…

How true it is, the spiritual law of sowing and reaping. If we sow good things, like love, joy, peace, patience, we will reap the same. If we sow seeds of bitterness, rage, envy and strife, that’s exactly what we will harvest. God’s Word is true, and He is faithful to what He has promised. If He says we will reap what we sow, you can believe it will come to pass.

Yet, can I ask you? How often do we fail to see that what we reap may be sown, not only in our lives but, also, in the lives of our children and in our children’s children? Let me give you a personal example…both of my grandfathers were known alcoholics in their hometown. One was a wealthy man, first name of WL, but whose reputation was as such that many nicknamed him “Double Hell” when he turned up the bottle. The other was a not so wealthy of a man, last name Hall, and whose reputation for being an alcoholic rendered him a similar nickname, just changing the vowel in his last name to fit. Now, these two men each had children, one – daughters, one – sons, all who grew up in and around these alcoholic lifestyles, and each of them learned the ways of the world and falling into the same patterns of their father. Each of these men, and each of these children, have their own stories to tell of chaos, salvation and change, and, unfortunately for one, the lack thereof. However, I am the third generation of this “heritage,” and it has taken many prayers, a tenacity of will and a lifestyle of sanctification to begin sowing a different seed than the ones they first planted.

It is so important how we choose to live our lives, not simply for our own experience, but, so much more, for those coming behind. We may be able to live life as we choose, reeking havoc when we like, being careless, nonchalant or disconnected, but what about those children who are watching us, learning from us, taking in our every move, our every word, our every action? Sometimes, they are left to pay the highest price.

When we choose to seek a higher purpose for living than just our own fleshly desires and ambitions, it causes us to be accountable to another. It causes us to take responsibility for our actions, and it causes us be more aware of commitments made and promises spoken.

My goal is to live the best life I can live to leave a strong heritage of love, faith and hope to my boys. My prayer is they will see that doing the right thing always outweighs doing the “comfortable” thing. My hope is my sons will not be the only ones impacted by the legacy I, one day, will leave.

*Picture is from welearntoday.com via Google images. I do not have possession of, nor do I own this picture.*

One thought on “For Generations to Come

Comments are closed.